Once upon a time a long long time ago, okay not so long ago, I was a kid (like everyother human). Even as a kid I loved reading and I had this book that was bound in blue with worm holes through it (was apparently my great grandmother’s book!!!). It was my favourite book and was what got me into reading. I don’t remember the author or title of the book but there is this scene that plays like a movie in my head.

A young girl sitting alone at the window waiting for everyone to come back from a picnic. She was left coz she was sick and wasn’t allowed outside. She sat with her cooking toys at the window sill and made flapjacks.

It is such an insignificant part of the book but just the thought of flapjacks leaves me happy unconsciously. The book is now (hopefully) in the hands of someone who will love it as much as I did but I’ll never forget that book.

I don’t know if it’s the need to feel the familiar or to just feel like you belong, but just a little splash of the past sure does make the bluest day bright.

Signing off,

D